Heritage League Awards


Every year at our annual meeting, the Heritage League of Pierce County recognized the outstanding heritage work carried out in our county by museum and community professionals. The goal of these awards is to recognize achievement among our members and affiliates doing heritage work in Pierce County.

Award nominations are typically due in early January.

2020 nomination form:2020_AwardNomination

Past winners are listed below.


Lifetime Achievement Award was presented posthumously to Bob Minnich for his work with the Puyallup Historical Society at Meeker Mansion.

Wes Perkins accepts the Lifetime Achievement Award for Bob Minnich on behalf of the Puyallup Historical Society

Other awards presented at the 2018 annual meeting were:

Publications Award to Winona Jacobsen for her work in support of the Greater Bonney Lake Historical Society, including researching and writing a book detailing the history of Bonney Lake.

Event Award to the Tacoma Historical Society for hosting the 11th Annual Destiny Dinner, celebrating Tacoma’s social justice champions.

Special Projects/Collaborations Award to the Washington Trust for Historic Preservation and the City of Tacoma Historic Preservation Office for bringing the Youth Heritage Project to Tacoma, engaging teens in hands‐on learning about local maritime heritage.

Promotion/Marketing Award to Phillip Raschke for his efforts on behalf of the Buffalo Soldiers Museum. He brings Pierce County history to a wide audience through his radio program, lectures and historical films.

Organizational Achievement Award to Mary Bowlby for her advocacy and determination to expand the Job Carr Cabin Museum’s presence in the community.

Individual Achievement Awrd to Melissa McGinnis for her long‐standing efforts to support local history in her work at MetroParks Tacoma.


Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Carol and Orville Stout for their work with Historic Fort Steilacoom.

Carol and Orville Stout receive 2017 HLPC Lifetime Achievement Award

Other awards presented at the 2017 annual meeting were:

Publication Award to Jerry Ramsey for Stealing Puget Sound on the history of native, English, American and Hudson Bay Company land-claims.

Education Award to the Jan Adams and the Foss Maritime Seaport for a project involving reconstruction of a whale skeleton by Stadium High school Students at the Seaport.

Special Project Award to Deb Freeman for her book and exhibit project that shed light on Tacoma’s Jewish community.

Individual Achievement Award to Nancy Keller-Scholz for her work on the Middle School Daycamp at Fort Nisqually.


Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Dr. Ronald E. Magden, Tacoma Historical Society, and Marianne Bull, Steilacoom Historical Museum Association.

Ronald Magden, 2016 Lifetime award

Joseph Govednik presents 2016 HLPC Lifetime Achievement Award to Dr. Ronald E. Magden

Eyes of the Totem” was recognized with a Special Collaboration Award.

Marshall McClintock was recognized with a Historic Preservation Award.

Lane Sample was recognized with a Individual Achievement Award.


Caroline Gallacci – Lifetime Achievement Award


Caroline Gallacci receives 2015 HLPC Lifetime Achievement Award

Mike Carrell – Heritage Advocate Award

Greater Bonney Lake – Event Award

Job Carr Cabin Museum – Education Award

Lakewood & Tacoma Historical Societies – Outstanding Collaboration Award

University Place – Organizational Achievement Award


Joan Curtis – Lifetime Achievement Award


Karen Haas presents the 2014 HLPC Lifetime Achievement Award to Joan Curtis

Fife Historical Society – Special Program Award

Fort Nisqually Time Travelers, Tacoma Cemetery and Tacoma Historical Society – Special Event Award

Jim Giesy & Barbara Tronca – Volunteer Award

Lakewood Historical Society – Marketing & Promotion Award

Longbranch Improvement Club – Publication Award

Puyallup Historical Society & Puyallup Library – Special Project Award

Sharon Winters – Advocacy Award



Ron Karabaich – Lifetime Achievement Award

Kathy Westlin – Education Award

Phil Raschke – Community Connections Award

Tacoma Historical Society – Institutional Event Award

Peggy Barchi – Event Management Award

Lakewood Historical Society – Institutional Achievement Award

Tom Cashman – Individual Achievement Award

Steve Dunkelberger – Heritage Advocate Award


Jon Robin Paterson – Lifetime Achievement Award


Jon Robin Paterson receives the 2012 HLPC Lifetime Achievement Award

Carl Vest – Community Connections Award

Charlotte “Polly” Medlock – Advocacy Award

Cindy Calton – Publications Award

Bill Rhind – Exhibitions and Collections Award

Harbor History Museum – Education Award

Leann O’Neil – Individual Achievement Award

Lakewood Historical Society – Special Event Award

Fox Island Historical Society – Institutional Achievement Award


Mavis Stears – Lifetime Achievement Award

Mavis Stears - First annual lifetime achievement

Mavis Stears receives the 2011 HLPC Lifetime Achievement Award

Lorraine Overmyer – Lifetime Achievement Award (posthumous)

Janice Baginski – Archive Award

Carla Wutz – Special Projects Award

Deb Freedman – Individual Achievement Award

University Place Historical Society CHIPS Committee – Advocacy Award

Harbor History Museum – Institutional Achievement Award