Heritage League Awards

Every year at our annual meeting, the Heritage League of Pierce County recognized the outstanding heritage work carried out in our county by museum and community professionals.

Nomination forms for 2018 will be available in October of 2017. Keep up the good work, everyone! Thank you!

Past winners are listed here.


Lifetime Achievement Award was present to Carol and Orville Stout for their work with Historic Fort Steilacoom

Carol and Orville Stout receive lifetime achievement award

Other awards presented at the last annual meeting were:

Publication Award to Jerry Ramsey for Stealing Puget Sound on the history of native, English, American and Hudson Bay Company land-claims.

Education Award to the Jan Adams and the Foss Maritime Seaport for a project involving reconstruction of a whale skeleton by Stadium High school Students at the Seaport.

Special Project Award to Deb Freeman for her book and exhibit project that shed light on Tacoma’s Jewish community.

Individual Achievement Award to Nancy Keller-Scholz for her work on the Middle School Daycamp at Fort Nisqually.


Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Dr. Ronald E. Magden, Tacoma Historical Society, and Marianne Bull, Steilacoom Historical Museum Association.

Ronald Magden, 2016 Lifetime award
Joseph Govednik presents the Lifetime Achievement Award to Dr. Ronald E. Magden

“Eyes of the Totem” was recognized with a Special Collaboration Award.

Marshall McClintock was recognized with a Historic Preservation Award.

Lane Sample was recognized with a Individual Achievement Award.



Caroline Gallacci Lifetime Achievement Award, 2015

Mike Carrell Heritage Advocate Award

Greater Bonney Lake Event Award

Job Carr Education Award

Lakewood & Tacoma Historical Societies Outstanding Collaboration Award

University Place Organizational Achievement Award

Caroline Gallacci Lifetime Achievement Award




Fife Historical Society Special Program Award

Fort Nisqually Time Travelers,}

Tacoma Cemetery and           } Special Event Award

Tacoma Historical Society      }

Jim Giesy & Barbara Tronca Volunteer Award

Lakewood Historical Society Marketing & Promotion Award

Longbranch Improvement Club Publication Award

Puyallup Historical Society & Puyallup Library Special Project Award

Sharon Winters Advocacy Award

Joan Curtis Lifetime Achievement Award



Kathy Westlin Education Award
Phil Raschke Community Connections Award

Tacoma Historical Society Institutional Event Award

Peggy Barchi Event Management Award

Lakewood Historical Society Institutional Achievement Award

Tom Cashman Individual Achievement Award

Steve Dunkelberger Heritage Advocate Award

Ron Karabaich Lifetime Achievement Award




Carl Vest Community Connections

Charlotte “Polly” Medlock Advocacy

Cindy Calton Publications

Bill Rhind Exhibitions and Collections

Harbor History Museum Education

Leann O’Neil Individual Achievement

Lakewood Historical Society Special Event

Fox Island Historical Society Institutional Achievement

Jon Robin Paterson Lifetime Achievement



Mavis Stears - First annual lifetime achievement

Janice Baginski Archive

Carla Wutz Special Projects

Deb Freedman Individual Achievement

University Place Historical

Society CHIPS Committee Advocacy

Harbor History Museum Institutional Achievement

Mavis Stears Lifetime Achievement

Lorraine Overmyer Lifetime Achievement – posthumous